Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Saturday, February 20th, 2021


A V Ramana RaoMarch 6th, 2021 at 10:46 am

Hi Dear Mr Wolff
Once east pitched a diamond on the run of trumps, there is no defence. East should realise that even if south scores four club tricks they are not adequate for the slam ( if south held six carded heart suit , there is nothing east can do about it) and the risk of diamond K getting ruffed out and the ensuing squeeze on diamond Q. So he should have discarded clubs on trumps. Even now there is a small risk of ducking spade( if he takes spade A, a spade return may present a trick if south held ten of spades and he obviously cannot lead a diamond) if south happens to hold singleton spade and three diamonds to J 9 but that is negligible compared to the threat of diamond K getting ruffed out.

bobbywolffMarch 6th, 2021 at 3:24 pm


The best thing which can be said about today’s hand is that it is a real hand and little doubt, to being an original.

However, for superior analysts like you, your reaction is like a duck does to water.

Perhaps the lesson to be learned is beyond most player’s pay grade, but even so, there is a lesson to be learned (which you taught) which. with continued thought (if one gets that far) will allow that beneficiary greater understanding of different types of squeezes and what it takes to succeed.

The one necessary feature of all squeezes is for one hand (almost always a defender) has one too many suits to protect, allowing an expert declarer to play his cards in the order necessary to take advantage.

Yes, most often a tall order to fulfill, but therein involves a no doubt beautiful part of our game which, if done properly, will always, if nothing else, create great satisfaction and sadly for the other partnership, left wondering what he, she, (or they) could have done to have prevented it.

Finally, and especially with this hand, if a tournament director is called because of slow play by both sides, but particularly by East, I sincerely think that he should make an exception with this particular hand and not issue a penalty, or, for that matter, not even a warning.

But, there I go again, making up rules which do not conform to the book, but, in this case, if there ever was one, an exception, in the name of our magnificent game itself, should be granted.

AVRR, thanks for the time spent in creating your analysis, and the penalty for doing so is definitely waived.