Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Tuesday, March 1st, 2022


Patrick CheuMarch 15th, 2022 at 10:46 am

Hi Bobby, Good morning. So in a sense if the spade suit was blocked,declarer can make the contract after drawing trumps and diamond elimation and spurned the club finesse by AKC and third c exit for ruff n discard only failing if East hand being KJxx xx AJxx Qxx…50/50 chance of guessing right? Regards Patrick

bobbywolffMarch 15th, 2022 at 1:07 pm

Hi Patrick,

Exactly correct, since the hand you gave, substituting the diamond jack for the potential queen, would (possibly should) not be accepted as anything more than an original pass.

However, some aggressive pairs might open the hand you gave, since he sat in third chair, and could have started the bidding with a preemptive 1 spade, a call which might be judged, all things considered, including possessing only four of them, having a slight advantage. over merely passing.

A V Ramana RaoMarch 15th, 2022 at 3:18 pm

Hi Dear Mr Wolff
Perhaps on this hand, best defense by east is to give enough rope to south to hang himself. Just play back a diamond at T2. South will ruff, probably play two rounds of trumps noticing the break but now what? Probably he would finesse clubs but west seeing the endplay coming can cash A of spade and get out with a diamond. South is forced to ruff and now would survive only if he led a middle heart to dummy while drawing trumps. If he casually led three to K , it is over. There is no entry to dummy for leading spade and south ends up losing three spade tricks. True, south could have prevailed by ruffing diamond after leading trump to dummy followed by three rounds of clubs but that line perhaps calls for clairvoyance

bobbywolffMarch 15th, 2022 at 3:58 pm


In the way you suggest, East can hide the queen of diamonds which became the key factor in West being thrown in, instead of the natural finesse for the club queen.

Perhaps then, declarer can start with KJ doubleton diamond and throw the king under the ace, allowing the jack to be scored later (when East insists on hiding the queen) as well as still end- playing West.

Not exactly recommended bridge, but at the very least, would become a hand to both talk about and make almost every bridge column for being unique.

“Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive”.

Can’t you see West’s face when declarer later scores up his jack of diamonds?

bobbywolffMarch 15th, 2022 at 4:03 pm

Hi again AVRR,

I guess declarer’s false card, being so surprising, it even caused me to mention West, when I definitely meant East’s face.