Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Saturday, August 6th, 2022


bobbywolffAugust 20th, 2022 at 2:55 pm

Hi Everyone,

When some bridge pundits label playing high-level winning bridge, they are not talking or likely even thinking, about hands like these.

No doubt East needs to be well enough versed about squeeze play and its implications to head toward the necessary defense to apply it.

However, other aspects of our game do not require such knowledge and instead represent qualities like bluff and counter, catch me if you can, brazen
(but not irrational, chance taking), as well as an acceptable (complete and easily enough remembered winning bidding system), above average memory (but with limits on when is the right time) and application, learning how to win in style, a workable knowledge of percentage play,, opening lead experience (sometimes depending on the opponents), competitive psychology, and above all, total concentration during all phases (except as dummy) as to not only the cards played (and the cards not), but why, in that order, and even the opponent’s huddles ending with the time it took for the opponents (not partner) to make his bids (often thinking back) and, of course, his declarer play, and, of course, even as least as much, while on defense.

Finally, the experience gleaned will be of great help, as long as other thoughts (results, how one is judged, and other extraneous non-entities are easily discarded).

Nothing to it, as long as the one moving rapidly up the ladder, keeps it going that way to death (or my current age) do us part.


Iain ClimieAugust 20th, 2022 at 8:32 pm

Hi Bobby,

You suggest that if partner can ruff the 2nd spade the trick may not disappear but South could have something like AKx KJ9xxxx x AK and you’ll never hear the last of it if you duck the first heart! Sadly West can’t risk 4S at the vulnerability.



bobbywolffAugust 21st, 2022 at 12:50 am

Hi Iain,

Sadly, being at the table, especially during the bidding and when it was West turn to bid, he might have taken a few extra seconds before he passed, doing nothing intentionally wrong, but after then the opponents did bid the slam, it would become somewhat obvious that partner was thinking about bidding 4 spades, certainly not doubling 4 hearts.

Just an innocent happening, and almost impossible to solve, but all of us need to live with such things, since there is no fair solution.

Not that it played a part on this hand, but it could have made the difference, and at least IMO needs not to be intelligently discussed, since in reality, there is little or nothing to say.