Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Sunday, 12 May, 2024


jim2May 12th, 2024 at 2:00 am

One the first hand, what do you bid when partner bids the expected 2H?

Iain ClimieMay 12th, 2024 at 12:59 pm

Hi Jim2,

2S surely? Pard will expect 4D and 6 good spades with at most 1H or I’d pass 2H.



bobbywolffMay 12th, 2024 at 2:12 pm

Hi Jim2 & Iain,

Partner’s 2 hearts was insufficient, since I rebid 3 spades, instead of 2 diamonds. Yes, 2 diamonds can be provocative in plowing ahead, but unless partner has at least 5 decent diamonds, there will be little chance for my side to score up a game and even if he does and has a lowly singleton spade, I will take my game chances in spades.

True, bidding 2 diamonds may get us to a decent diamond slam, ace fifth (or sixth) of diamonds and the club ace, but also perhaps then, the world isn’t round after all.

No picture perfect bidder, me, only a former one who loved to play “aces and cinches”, but not to respect the master suit, especially when it included the queen, doesn’t appeal.

bobbywolffMay 12th, 2024 at 2:36 pm

Hi Iain,

Even if someone held a gun to my head, I wouldn’t pass 2 hearts, unless there was a ransom available for allowing partner to play the hand and, most important, I hated him or her.

Since when have you taken to such overwhelming respect for partner and, if you did,
would your eyes focus on her face, when you laid down the dummy? Save those bridge stories, back to when you were trying to woo the most attractive girl around and she was your partner, but even in that event, she might not co-operate with you and your plans for that evening or worse yet, even the next.

Iain ClimieMay 12th, 2024 at 6:09 pm

Hi Bobby,

A hand from the other night may answer your question. At adverse I opened 1S on AJ98xxx x Axx Jx, gt 2D from pard, bid 2S and got 3N. I was sorely tempted to pass (we’re playing 4cm) but, despite the weak spade suit decided to bid 4S. He’d taken a punt to avoid pinpointing the lead as he held None KQ10x KQ109xxx Kx and didn’t want to bid 3H (when I bid 3S and pass 3N). I should probably have passed 3N and blamed him if I was wrong, although I envisaged 2-3-5-3, 1-4-5-3, 1-3-5-4 or similar. Win the post mortem – if 4S is right it is his fault; if 4S is wrong and passing 3N isn’t, then bidding 4S makes it my fault. I felt he was over-committal here but 9 tricks are easier than 10 and I’ve probably got 2 spade losers if
partner has small spade singleton or the 10 alone. 3N romps home on a club lead, the HA is onside so only a spade K lead from K10 alone onside, a club back and a misguess beats 3N. The post-mortem went on a bit but stuff happens!



bobbywolffMay 12th, 2024 at 10:11 pm

Hi Iain,

How about?: 1 spade, With, and, of course, opponents always passing, 2D, 2S, 3H, 3S, 4D, 5D Pass, but if there was a way for your hand to show a proud raise to 5 diamonds (like having a big smile or just exhibiting happiness (just kidding) P.

No doubt many things do happen, but all we can do is what looks to be at least somewhat normal judgement, and affirmatively try and do prosaic
things, but not try and be a bridge genius, defined as doing different
things, like trying to be the only ones to arrive at the best contract, but seriously hope for the fewest problems with every time we sit down at the bridge table, instead of others (not talking about you), trying to secure spectacular (or indeed,) better.

BTW, I do not think you ever have the inclination to do that, but you run these substitute bids in, just to talk about them