Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Saturday, April 17th, 2021


A V Ramana RaoMay 1st, 2021 at 10:24 am

Hi Dear Mr Wolff
But perhaps had West divined that either dummy holds spade K or east spade J, he could have led A and Q of spades. If Q is ducked, west can exit in diamonds else exit in the same suit which south finesses like after
drawing trump and stripping diamonds . If a heart is finessed west wins and exits in hearts or if a club is finessed, west wins and exits in clubs. But since west is marked with both heart and club K on bidding , only hope is that West is dealt with a doubleton club K ( doubleton heart K won’t help) But that is not the case today

A V Ramana RaoMay 1st, 2021 at 10:28 am

After doubleton club K in the end, it should have been added that . South plays A of clubs and a club .West winning must provide a ruff and discard or lead a heart taking care of South’s heart loser

jim2May 1st, 2021 at 11:15 am

The Paul Harvey “Rest of the Story” of this hand (originally dealt in the 1976 Mud Cup) is that both pairs at that table were awarded an average-plus.

This was because the rest of the field played the N-S cards at either 6H or 6N, making 12 tricks.

The immediately previous pairs to play the Board had finished early and had debated long and hard if 7C were reachable. When time was called, the North and West hands were replaced in the wrong Board slots.

A V Ramana RaoMay 1st, 2021 at 11:34 am

Hi Jim 2
What a twist in the tail ( tale) . Honestly, I was about to ask you : are you sure you are referring to today’s column that is till I read last line of your post. So NS loses just a diamond

bobbywolffMay 1st, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Hi AVRR & Jim2,

When you, AVRR, suggest leading the ace of trumps from AQ doubleton, sometimes catching declarer with Kxxxx opposite xxxx in dummy it might paralyze a prospective newcomer to never take up the game. Especially in Lower Slobbovia where that lead is apparently somewhat commonplace. However, in their latest communique, they mentioned the protest and the award of both sides receiving AV+ results.

Those two AV+ pairs wound up tying for 1st place overall to the dismay of another pair who felt they had the highest legitimate score and deserved to stand alone as the winner.

By coincidence the so-called “deserving pair” happened to be their prime minister and his wife and coincidentally the result was changed so that the AV+ result was subtracted by only 1 point but enough to make them only tied for second.

All of that political party agreed with the adjusted score which, although being protested, by a vote taken was, according to the official count, ratified as correct.

Others felt that the vote could have been manipulated, but, of course, we all know that could not have happened, allowing the prime minister and his wife to be the justifiable winners.

Of course, every one in that country agreed with that final decision, since to not, would’n’t be judged to be worth the risk.

jim2May 1st, 2021 at 5:07 pm



Of course, with SW in 7C, declarer ruffs a spade for 13.

A V Ramana RaoMay 1st, 2021 at 5:27 pm

Hi Jim 2
But there is no late entry to dummy for cashing hearts and the count is not right for squeeze. Or I am missing something

jim2May 1st, 2021 at 5:55 pm


Looks like you’re right! So, those pairs got their penalty for nothing!

David SnookMay 1st, 2021 at 6:03 pm


I think I figured it out…

S wins the first D in dummy and immediately leads a low spade, hoping that W holds the 2 highest missing trump honors. It does E no good to play the J, as W must take the trick, period. West’s best lead after that is another diamond, which gets taken in hand. S then plays off the last diamond and leads a second low trump towards dummy, getting lucky!

W must take w/ the second and last trump honor and is now trapped in hand. With no more spades or diamonds, W must lead into either hearts or clubs. It doesn’t seem likely that W will lead hearts, but S wins either card led, plays a trump to the king, picking up the jack from E, and then puts W back on lead in clubs.

This works, does it not?

David SnookMay 1st, 2021 at 6:09 pm


I see one error in my reasoning…

If S takes the first D in hand and leads toward the dummy, all declarer has to do is let W take the trick, no matter what trump W plays. The point is to keep E off lead, period, and leading trump from hand to dummy is safer and more defining.

Bobby WolffMay 1st, 2021 at 10:18 pm

Hi Everyone,

We’re all victims of our own tomfoolery. Even my own trusty computer is acting strangely, so for the moment my defenses are down, its broken my resistance and the battle can’t be won.

I went into the fight like a lion, but came out like a lamb. Like a toothless clawless tiger, like an organ grinders bear, like a knight without his armor, like Samson without his hair.

My resistance is broken and I am speechless (please, don’t anyone applaud), but good luck to all.