Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Thursday, May 13th, 2021


Iain ClimieMay 27th, 2021 at 9:33 am

Hi Bobby,

If East covers the D9 with the J, trying to look like a player with QJx, declarer now has a losing option of playing DK then Ace and a small one – now losing to the 8. How would you react single dummy to a cover, especially as East might have QJ alone although the Rule of restricted choice perhaps argues against that.



bobbywolffMay 27th, 2021 at 1:25 pm

Hi Iain,

Yes, you undoubtedly have earned the role of Bridge Inspector General and would have suggested us to exchange North’s 7 of diamonds with the 8, therein making it foolproof that even a brilliancy by East (covering the diamond 10), to which he would not then consider, while looking at the dummy without, of course, holding both diamond intermediates.

If however, if a declarer would then fall victim to a defender that brilliant (covering here the first round of diamonds) pay off to him, since (assuming he did it for the right reason, not just because he had heard about always covering honors), not only (first bite your tongue) and then buy him a drink, (while and no doubt, buying yourself two of them), besides, and of course, also having to deal with your partner’s icy glare).

A grudging thanks for keeping us honest (as you often do) but please do not mention that you have to watch over us that closely.