Aces on Bridge — Daily Columns

The Aces on Bridge: Monday, March 14th, 2022


Iain ClimieMarch 28th, 2022 at 12:34 pm

Hi Bobby,

I thought Monday had struck again at 9-30 a.m. UK time but remembered the clocks had just changed (spring forward, fall back) so the column wouldn’t turn up until 10:00, although your times may change too soon.

On LWTA, does double from partner demand a spade lead or a club lead here? Given that I hold the CQ which partner can’t know about, I’d infer the former but what if I had Cxx (say)? Is there a solid rule here (assuming of course that partner doesn’t think it is off regardless holding (say) xx Axxx Ax KJ109x when a club lead from anything should do the trick.



bobbywolffMarch 28th, 2022 at 1:32 pm

Hi Iain,

The Colonies sprang forward a couple of weeks ago, confusing enough when not properly advertised.

Also Irritating, when crank selling something calls now come forth around 6AM former time rather than a less disturbing (but not by much) 7AM, likely originating in the Eastern Time Zone which has always been 3 hours ahead (then 10AM).

Methinks that a double by (the non-leading opening bidder) should definitely be for the opening bid suit.

Although the holding of the precious queen of that suit is, (by all intents and purposes strange) perhaps East was taking liberties with his 1NT overcall (although he didn’t run, nor neither ask or at least blanch, from North’s double),

Perhaps East was only experimenting with his NT overcall and, if so, NS will be likely gifted a top board.

The other possibility of spades being called for is, from South’s point of view, more likely, but in actuality, just too partnership baiting, to lead one.

At least I think so, but have my fingers crossed. The only thing to count on is that West will have a long, strong diamond suit (and little else) for his jump to game.

Finally, I would definitely lead a club, even from a singleton deuce, and, if void, even then by stealing one from any source available.

Mircea GiurgeuMarch 28th, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Hi Bobby,

Shouldn’t West raise with the ace when the declarer plays the jack and promptly return a small spade?

bobbywolffMarch 28th, 2022 at 6:23 pm

Hi Mircea,

The play at trick one had East overtaking West’s spade jack lead, in order to switch to clubs. If declarer won the ace and continued spades East will be in to make the killing club switch from his side.

Positioning is often a crucial juncture, particularly on defense, and on this hand will cause a game swing by so doing.